grape run!

This morning was one of the best kinds of mornings for running a race: it was cool with dew still on the grass and the sun was just coming up and hiding partly behind clouds. It was wet, bright, beautiful!

I’m very, very bad at pacing. I tend to just kind of start running and whatever my legs can handle, they just do on their own, at least at the start. I had a general idea of what my past times on this course had been, and I figured a little bit what I needed times I needed to hit at the miles point in order to get the time I was roughly (very roughly) shooting for. Then I just go for it and try to pick as many people off as I can.My brother wore his Tarahumara-esque huaraches and did very well in them (2nd place over all!!). He definitely got some strange looks and questions, but he proved himself in them. I have been debating for a while now and have officially ordered some of my own. I’m super excited!

I was pleased with my time-a PR on that course, almost a full minute under last year’s race. Considering it was nearly a year ago that I ran a race, I was pleased. And even though there were very few girls in my age group (don’t you wish I had convinced you to just run the dang race!) I got first place for the 20-24 year olds and got a little trophy thing.
The grapes seemed honored and excited when I told them we wanted a photo with them. I think they appreciate the attention, instead of just being attendants to the grape queen (at the race, in her crown, to fire the gun). I said, “gather close little clusters” and they smiled with joy. Best of all, we got to eat some real Tontitown grapes-they taste  fresh little orbs of grape juice. They were even better a few hours later when they were frozen…just like candy. So, all around, successful day!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to grape run!

  1. Gara Ann Martin says:

    Congratulations to both of you runners and to your excellent and fun ‘read’ Alyssa.
    Hugs & Love, Aunt GA

Leave a Reply

