breakfeast

I have come to greatly appreciate Sundays…they truly are a rest day. I know it is crazy, but I definitely spent an hour outside today. It was insanely hot (upwards of 100 degrees), yes, but I love the sun and being warm (and not being a pale pasty creature) that much. And it wasn’t one straight hour, it was only 20 minutes or so at a time, then coming inside and chug chug chugging water. On one of those re-hydrating breaks I made a fast, water-filled lunch.Fruits and veggies have tons of water in them, which is partly why they are so filling. Whenever I find myself incessantly snacking on fruit or vegetables when I’m not super hungry then I know I’m probably craving those things because I’m thirsty. Thirst can often mask itself as hunger, one reason health experts always say to drink lots of water.Don’t be disturbed that my salad has grapes, salsa, cucumber, and ricotta cheese/yogurt all within very close proximity to each other. Salads are all about mixing random stuff, right? I’m not going to get hung up on does it “go together” or not (with relationships, this is very much an issue-I like figuring out if people “go together” or not. There it matters; with food, so so much). Just because it doesn’t seem like a classic or normal pairing doesn’t mean it is bound to fail. Don’t knock it until you try it!

Speaking of classic……Sunday dinners seem to be a pretty classic time for our family to do breakfast for dinner. I volunteered to fix it tonight because I so rarely get to do much cooking for my family. I made sourdough French toast with bacon and eggs. It’s a simple meal to fix for a crowd because it goes pretty quick and you can toss the toast, eggs, and bacon into the oven in intervals to warm while you cook up some more.French toast seems really unhealthy, but it can be made into a decently healthy meal with a few subs that don’t resort to using fake foods:

-use a nutritionally dense bread, like whole wheat

-use just egg whites or an egg substitute (like egg beaters), although using the whole egg is perfectly fine-it is awesome protein. Use milk (preferably 1% or skim) instead of whole milk or cream

-don’t fry it in butter-just spray the pan with cooking spray-it doesn’t have to be dripping in butter (as rich and decadent as it may taste!) to taste good and not burn

-top with fresh fruit or honey instead of dousing it in nutritionally bankrupt syrups

We always take the egg and milk batter for dipping the toast and just scramble them up. This time I added some cheddar, parmesan,  goat cheese and herbs. A good trick for soft, velvety eggs? Cook over a low eat and stir often.Any fun Sunday traditions for you?

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

