nectar of the gods.

Ever since I was diagnosed as a diabetic when I was 8, protein has been an important part of my life, because it helps sustain and keep my blood sugars level. As a runner it is equally important for recovery. Peanut butter was and still is a favorite source. Back in the day, another favorite was(I’m not sure how I feel about admitting this!) sausage links, 2 every morning with breakfast, but that is a story for another day.

Enter the new alternative to peanut butter: almond butter. And it is the best thing in the world, food of the gods I am willing to go so far as to say. If I had to subsist on no other food but almond butter, I would be A-OK. (Incidentally, I’m reading a running book and supposedly chia seeds are the ultimate food. But I digress).

And what better way to use almond butter, other than just eating spoonfuls of it? Bake with it, of course! And really, what this is, is the ultimate breakfast food. The ultimate snack food. I kind of feel like I say that about everything, but this time I mean it. I really mean it.Banana almond butter muffins. No eggs (we didn’t have any, but I probably would have left them out anyway), no sugar (splenda), no oil (almond butter instead), and added wheat germ for a nutritional punch. Are you drooling yet?

Oh you’re not? Well just know that they are dense little creatures…the perfect mix of fruity banana and salty sweet almond butter. The only improvement on these would be either A-more almond butter on top or B-chocolate. I give you free license to do either.

Banana Almond Muffins

1 cup white flour, 1 cup wheat flour                                                                                              1 tsp. baking soda                                                                                                                            1/2 tsp. salt                                                                                                                                     1 tsp. cinnamon                                                                                                                                1/2 cup almond butter                                                                                                                   3mashedbananas                                                                                                                                          1/2 cup brown sugar (I used a stevia replacement) 1/4 cup Splenda

Sift the dry ingredients together, beat the wet together, mix the dry into the wet in increments until fully mixed (don’t overmix!). Bake at 55-60 minutes for bread, 25-30 for muffins at 375.

For 12 muffins, per muffin: 165 calories, 24 carbs, 4.5 g protein

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

