Morning tangents

Sometimes, I go on tangents. I’ll take pictures of different stuff throughout my day and then realize when I come to write a post that they are completely random and have nothing whatsoever to do with each other. Sometimes I can cobble together an overarching theme and sort of make it work. Not today. I’m not even going to try. Just accept that these things are unrelated. I think if you know that up front, it will just be better for you.

1. Fresh fruit is the best thing in the world. This is peaches, watermelon, cantaloupe. I’m also obsessed with pluots (plums + apricots), mangoes, frozen grapes, bing cherries, blueberries. Fruit salad is such a summer treat,  the epitome of summer really, and it can work as breafkast, with cereal and yogurt, as lunch with fresh mint and cottage cheese, or mixed with orange juice and frozen for a snack.

2. I am slightly ashamed to admit this, but I used this mix for my Grandmama’s cupcakes. To be fair to myself, I subbed frozen nanners for the oil, so they have a faint banana flavor, which I think will be awesome with chocolate buttercream frosting. I can’t say I’m a fan of anything boxed, really. Betty Crocker stuff isn’t all that great in my opinion. And people, she wasn’t even a real lady. “She” was a marketing gimick, just like the Green Giant or the little honey bee on Cheerios (nobody ever mistakes those 2 as being real, you’ll notice). I’ve read a whole book on this. I know what I’m talking about here.

3. My super awesome friend sent me this all the way from Alaska where she is working this summer. How fun is that? Too bad Jack couldn’t send some gold pieces he was panning for in it too!

My mom has been harvesting eggplant, okra, tomatoes, and squashes from the garden like crazy, and there is a healthy harvest food competition I saw in one of her gardening magazines that I think I might enter using those ingredients. Veggie lasagna, maybe?

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

