bonfires, beans, birthdays

As my mom snapped beans today, she got a little creative with the finished ones and demanded  I come be impressed with her handiwork. Ok, duly noted mom. I suggested she set this on fire like they do at those Japanese hibachi restaurants where they make a volcano out of the onions and set it on fire. Except instead of a volcano this would be a bean bonfire.It could kind of be cheerful, right? Actually my new favorite way to eat fresh green beans (it wouldn’t work the same with canned or frozen) is to roast them until they are perfectly crunchy. They actually kind of taste like french fries. But they are so much better than a fried potato.

Saturday is my Grandmama’s birthday. She is going to be 94. 94, people. I think that deserves something. Something sweet, like cupcakes, you say? Why yes, exactly what I was thinking! Whenever I’m away from people and I’m wishing them a happy birthday, I always say, “and if you were here, I would bake you a cake.” I love it when I actually get to do it. Once for my Grandmama I made a cake that looked like a hat. Now she lives in a nursing home and barely knows who I am. But I have to believe that the special gesture won’t be completely lost on her…that deep down somewhere, she knows what it means.

So please, if your birthday is coming up and you are close to me, let me make you a birthday cake!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to bonfires, beans, birthdays

  1. Alice says:

    Thanks for “duly noting” 🙂

  2. Your grandma and I share the same birthday!

    I’ve never heard of roasting green beans but I’m definitely going to have to try that – sounds quite tasty.

  3. JoAn Holdorf says:

    Your grandmother is more beautiful than ever! She looks so happy.

Leave a Reply

