creativity.

My sister came back from a fancy-schmancy weekend getaway with her boyfriend husband (why did I do that?) and had a stuffed portobello mushroom with artichokes, cheese. It looked a lot like the kind we sell at Mellow Mushroom and kind of gave me a craving for one. So I dug into my supply of mushroom stems and decided to just make my own. Taaa-daaaa. I’m kind of proud of how these turned out. I sliced the stems, roasted them for a few minutes, then filled them with a concoction of thawed spinach, plain yogurt, goat cheese, garlic (lots and lots), fresh basil, and red pepper. I topped them with feta and a balsamic “glaze” (vinegar and some Splenda) because that’s what they put on it at MM and it the best thing ever.So good. So so good. It would also work really well as stuffing for stuffed mushroom caps. The balsamic works so well with the other flavors, giving just a hint of sweetness to the cheeses and meaty mushrooms.If you like bluegrass-y music, check out http://aaronhalemusic.blogspot.com/. I met these guys last week when I was waitressing and chatted with the drummer and lead singer. They are seriously my new favorite band. I got some of their music and it knocked out Mumford and Sons (they kind of have the same banjo and unique sound). Go check them out!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

