there’s only one

When I was in high school there was a kind of cheesy promotional video for football featuring a bunch of different players saying, “there’s only one” with dramatic music in the background. (Only one football team like ours).

Well, I won’t comment further on the video (or subsequent ones) but here are a few “only ones” of the summer:

Only one thing like fresh fruit. Particularly peaches and plums. And watermelons and mangoes. Ahhh, I am in love!

Only one thing quite like summer vegetables straight from the garden, little beads of sweat forming as they go from their little dirt home to the oven to my stomach.

Only one time of year when weddings are quite so rampant.

Only one thing quite like family. Although with my oldest sister and her Nick not here it kind of feels like a missing appendage.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to there’s only one

  1. Laura says:

    We miss you guys and wish we could be enjoying more summer together. Hopefully soon we can bring the missing appendage back soon. Love you!

Leave a Reply

