Lys’ smoothie shop.

I spend most of my day working by a pool. Not in a pool. Just by it. Very big distinction. The number one thing I make for people is smoothies. Someone always tells me that they are so good-the best smoothie they’ve every had-at least once a day. They are the simplest thing. Partly out of necessity, partly just to be able to offer a healthy option, these smoothies have only fruit, milk, and honey. Nothing else. No protein powder, no supplements (unless you want a tablespoon of peanut butter), no yogurt.I’m thinking of starting my own smoothie shack. A couple years ago there was one snow cone shack set up in the parking lot of Hobby Lobby. Now there are at least 15 around town, and they are always packed. People can’t get enough. Why couldn’t smoothies do the same thing? It is so ridiculously hot that what could possibly be better than something a refreshing treat that is good, good for you, delicious, and such a pretty shade (that is all natural, thank you very much)? What’s not to love?

Copious amounts of sugar, I guess, if you are a diabetic. The fruit does have sugar, but it’s the honey that really puts it over the edge in terms of sugar. You could always use some splenda and add a little extra milk or water to help with the consistency while still getting some sweetness. In fact, the other day we made a smoothie with water instead of milk because the guy was lactose intolerant. He said it was still really good. Blending at least 2 fruits really helps with consistency, that is for sure.

Speaking of record high temperatures…I will say I so prefer this weather to being snowed in. But there is still that annoying factor that is sweat. Especially running. It is like Niagara Falls pours out of my face when I run. This wouldn’t be such an issue, except that it can cause major issues with my insulin pump. I wear an Omnipod which is attached to my body at all times and has a little tube that pumps insulin through my skin into my body. The other day I was running downhill and all of a sudden felt a sharp and piercing pain in my back. Because of all the sweat, my pump was hanging on literally by the micro-thin tube alone; all the adhesive had come off. So I just had to rip it off and keep running.

I have no idea who that guy is. Whether it is because of laziness or self-consciousness over my scarred back, I decided against taking a picture of my own pod. So I just stole one from the Omnipod website so you could get the general idea.

Really though, what is important is not whether any of us know that guy. It is whether or not you would frequent my smoothie shop and let me put you on a [natural] sugar high. Just think about it. Donate funds to the future smoothie shack if you feel so led.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

