dumped cherries

This is the easiest cake you will ever make. Oooh that rhymed. Should I write a poem about cherry dump cake? Mmm…no. Maybe one day, but not tonight. I had a little shindig with some friends last night (I tried slacklining for the very first time. And it is HARD). I decided the morning of, with an hour before I had to go to work that I needed to make a snack to feed people. And a non chocolate one at that for some very averse-to-chocolate folks. So, let me introduce you to the easiest cake* in the world. Literally.

One can of cherries-dumped into a pan. Follow with one can of pineapple, one cake mix (white, yellow, pecan, really whatever floats your boat), and then some cubed butter and cream cheese. And then you bake it until it is brown and bubbly.Yes, yes, let’s be honest here: not one ingredient is good for you. Everything is either out of a can, from boxed mix with un-pronounceable ingredients, or straight butter. What kind of Southern belle would I be if I didn’t make desserts like this for my friends?And obviously, nobody like it.

Today, I joined the ranks of a very important sub-group of people. What group, you ask? Tomorrow friends!

*I say the easiest cake. Although I do remember one time we went on vacation to the mountains of Wyoming and stayed in a little cabin. We had brought ingredients to make this cake having not actually seen the amenities the cabin-condo had. Well, the amenities did not include a stove. So it wasn’t that easy, actually, in that instance. Doable, but not easy. All this to say, if you find yourself without a stove, but wanting to bake this, it can be made in the microwave.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

