Rainbow Garden

Some people may call me Pocahontas ..but instead of all the colors of the wind, I opted for all the colors of the rainbow.

It’s all the colors of the rainbow on ONE plate. And 90% of the stuff is from our garden! You know how you’re supposed to eat a whole rainbow of colors in one day? Well, psh, I’ll do it one meal, thank you very much. And yes, I did eat that entire plate.

Yellow/Green was roasted wax/green beans. They were kind of like little bean fries-crunch on the outside and soft on the inside.Purple was more lovely beets, with both cooked and raw beet greens. Trust me, canned beens pale in comparison. Literally. There is absolutely nothing like a fresh beet-especially one picked from the earth just hours before. Ahhh, I’m in love.

White/more green was onions and a mixture of beet greens and Swiss chard. The whiteness of the onions got a little dyed by the greens, but it also adds tons of flavor.More green and yellow…green and banana peppers. The banana peppers only slightly resemble the pickled version. When they are fresh like this, they are a bit milder and sweeter. I actually really like this kind because it still has that distinctive tangy punch, but it isn’t as overwhelming.

I didn’t document every individual color…there were RED peppers, GREEN broccoli, YELLOW tomatoes, and ORANGE garden carrots. I also had PINK watermelon, WHITE feta, and BLUEberries. That is a lot of color-the more the better I say.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

