celebration.

Tonight was a celebration for the 2 bro-in-laws (both are named Nick). Nick #1 completed his thesis and is now officially a “master” (he got his master’s degree from Baylor). Nick #2 had another successful weekend on the golf course, so we cheered and clinked our glasses to him in spirit. There was grilled steak and champagne, but I actually had some salmon I had been craving instead of steak.I have discovered that cilantro is my new favorite herb. I have probably been over- picking the plant slightly…when I fall in love with something I want it ALL the time. I just can’t help myself and so cilantro has been in and on everything (well, almost). So this little “marinade’ was cilantro, some Greek seasoning, and kefir yogurt. The great thing about the kefir is that it is creamy like yogurt but it is fantastically tangy and tart too which mixes well with the buttery salmon-just like lemon juice or some other acid would cut through the richness of salmon. And even though salmon is rich, the richness comes from the omega-3 fats (super good for you) and it is pretty reasonably nutrition-wise: fairly low calorie and high high protein-perfect for my goals!I promise, there is beautifully pink salmon hiding underneath the yogurt and cilantro!

For the celebration I cut up some cantaloupe and watermelon. If I were a fruit, I might be a watermelon. I’m just saying. Melon balls have this stigma to me of dainty ladies’ luncheons-kind of like chicken salad with grapes or mini spinach quiches. I whipped out the melon baller to add a little festive jazz to the fruit this evening. All this needed was some fresh mint…but the heat has kind of fried the mint that grows wild in the back yard. Happy early 4th to everyone!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

