power of protein

These days, I’m really trying to focus on 2 things: protein and simplifying foods. I know this salad doesn’t look like it is simple at all really, and I guess it isn’t. I just mean that I’m trying not to over think food too much, just really focusing on getting the nutrients that I need. The days I work at the restaurant, I have to kind of sneak in bites of food when I can or just wait until the end of my shift. So those lunches tend to be pretty simple…a sandwich with goat cheese and turkey and an apple. When I work my other job, I have a little more time and can have a fork and spoon kind of lunch. I like that I can take my time and also because it is super high protein and takes a while to eat, so I feel satisfied and don’t have to worry about boredom eating. So what exactly is the protein in this salad? Well in the top left hand corner is some Canadian bacon, in the top right hand corner is a poached egg ( I LOVE runny yolks), and in the bottom right is feta cheese. For a total of almost 30 grams of protein. You couldn’t be hungry after that (on top of a few veggies) if you tried. Go on, I dare you.

Nor could you be full after a night of sushi. We had a sushi party tonight. This is kind of a lie of a picture, because this is from a previous sushi party (we have them yearly in the summers with the same friends)  and not from tonight. I bought the rice yesterday at a little Asian market and the lady selling me the rice thought having sushi parties was just the best idea ever. I personally didn’t feel like it was all that novel, but I’m glad she thought it was genius!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

