Indian Girl

When I was in 9th grade, I remember going to the Tontitown Grape Festival (a fair celebrating grapes, pasta and the Italian community of Tontitown) with a group of friends. I wore my hair in pigtail braids and as we were walking through the tents with hawkers trying to get you to play their tricked games, one said, “Hey, Pocahontas!” My friends thought that was great and I still hear it sometimes.

The past few days, though, I’ve been semi-pretending to actually be an Indian. Let me explain before you think me completely nuts. My brother has been running some with vibram shoes. Not the five finger über expensive ones, but another kind made with the same vibram material called the invisible shoe. They have cords that lace around the foot really intricately and they make a kind of flopping noise when he runs. It definitely changes his stride-makes him run more on his toes. So I thought I’d do him one better and try running barefoot, since it seems to be all the rage these days. It has only been around my backyard in the grass at the end of my run for no more than 5 minutes, but I do feel a change in the way my foot hits the ground. Sometimes I pretend I’m an Indian girl tracking a deer or an antelope to shoot with my bow and arrow (I actually used to own one…). I have to run softly and on my toes so that my heel doesn’t pound the ground and scare the animals away.

Ok, that is completely nuts. But its fun. I’ve also been using the dehydrator to dry things. That seems like a very Indian thing to do, doesn’t it? I helped my mom with some of her herbs-basil, pineapple sage, and dill. I also dried a whole bunch of mushrooms that I got from work the other night because there is no way I can eat them all fresh before they go bad.

I may start picking berries and weaving rugs. Watch out.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

