dear alyssa

I was asked a question about leftover potato skins, and what to do with them. It was also suggested that I start a column to answer kitchen and cooking questions. I’m flattered by the suggestion, and think it would be fun. Ask away!

As for the skins…here are my thoughts. First of all, I probably wouldn’t take the skin off a potato (whatever kind of potato we are talking about-sweet, yellow, white, etc) in the first place. But that is just me.

So, as for suggestions about what to do. You could season them-salt and pepper, herbs, cheese and bake them until they get crispy. Bake, not fry. Let’s not be gross here, people. You could shred and puree them in a food processor or blender and add to soups, and like the potato itself, would add flavor and act as a thickener.If the skins aren’t in shreds, you could always wrap something up in them-veggies, meat, etc. like you would with grape leaves. Obviously, you can fill them with anything-and how healthy or not the filling is is entirely up to you.

I think they are great just to nosh on, although it is hard to make them into a pretty little appetizer, I know. Helpful? I hope so!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dear alyssa

  1. Jim Martin says:

    Nosh.. I had to look that one up in my Funk & Wagnalls…

    Origin of NOSH
    Yiddish nashn, from Middle High German naschen to eat on the sly
    First Known Use: 1931

    This old dog just learned a new trick!
    (and the sun ain’t hardly up)

    JM

Leave a Reply

