la la la lasagana

Everyone thinks lasagna is Italian-I mean, it’s pasta and has red sauce, so why not? But actually, it originates from the Greeks. Did I glean that information from that great resource, Wikipedia? Fine, I did, but I checked out all the footnotes at the bottom that make the info legit, so don’t judge me for resorting to the outcast of credible information.

The other night I made homemade lasagna for dinner. It may be one of my favorite things to make from scratch, along with pies, cakes, muffins, hummus, chicken salad, salad, yogurt, bread, soups…ok, obviously I like making, like, everything from scratch if I can help it, do this is hardly a surprise. I think I followed a recipe the first time (maybe) but nowadays I just make it however I want-as long as you have noodles, cheese, and sauce you are good to go. I always add greens to mine because a) it is prettier to look at and b) duh, it’s healthier.

So here is how this whole lasagna business went down:

Cooked down some beet greens and spinach in one pot, browned some onions and ground beef in another, mixed ricotta cheese with fresh basil and oregano in a bowl, and set some lasagne (that is the plural of lasagna) in a dish of HOT water-I don’t like to cook them in a pot of boiling water because I don’t want them overcooked. Then, it is just layering and sprinkling with mozzarella and parmesean cheese and cooking at 350ish for an hour. ish. If you look at different recipes it calls for different temps/times; I did 375 for about 35 minutes and then lowered it to 350 and covered it with foil for another 25. Just do whatever you want, really (this is the gypsy/bohemian in me talking here…I’ve been spending waaay to much time at Mellow Mushroom).

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

