The mushroom girl

So, my brother and I have been working together at Mellow Mushroom. Everyone thinks it is super precious. I am coming to appreciate on a new level what waitresses and busboys do…it is intense work. Tip your servers, people, and tip them well.

All that to say, we don’t really get breaks-it is just on your feet all the time. That has been causing a bit of havoc on blood sugars, since it is going 5-7 hours without eating and lots of running around. We need quick, high energy snacks, so I created these for my brother:granola bars sandwiched with peanut butter. The recipe was noted in several places as being really good for athletes and lactating mothers. You don’t have to be either to enjoy them though. Naturally, it is an adapted recipe.

4 cups oats I subbed some Kashi Cereal leftovers for about 2 1/2 cups
2/3 c.  coconut oil
1/2 cup honey, molasses, or maple syrup (or combination)
2 eggs
1/2  tsp. vanilla
1/2  tsp. salt
up to 1 or 1 1/2 cups of any or all of the following: shredded coconut, raisins, almonds, walnuts, pecans, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, chocolate or carob chips, and/or your favorite nuts/seeds/dried fruit. I used dried apricots and chocolate chips.

1. spread oats on baking sheet and bake at 350′ for 15-20 minutes to toast. can bake longer at lower temp or shorter at higher temp depending on your schedule. should be a nice golden brown when finished.

2. transfer oats to large bowl. add salt and any other chosen dry ingredients and mix to blend.

3. combine wet ingredients in smaller bowl, and mix until blended.

4. add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well.

5. press mixture into greased jelly roll pan. you can also line the pan with parchment paper instead.

6. bake at 350′ for 20 minutes. cool. cut into bars. store in refrigerator in sealed container.As for the mushrooms…at MM they make a stuffed portobello mushroom as well as putting mushrooms in a number of their dishes. But, they get rid of all the mushroom stems. I think that is just a plain waste, and so today I asked to see if I could take the stems. So after talking to everyone who could possibly be in charge (ie-managers, the owner, kitchen guys) I got the go ahead. So, I came home with a little mushroom stem army.One of the kitchen gals saw me cutting the stems and said, “ohhh you’re the mushroom girl.” Um yes? Thank you? She told me that yesterday she saved me a whole box and then they got thrown away:/But today I saved a whole bunch to enjoy for a while. They taste just like the rest of the mushroom, all you have to do is get rid of the dirt. And portobellos are expensive little suckers, but I get them free by saving them from the doom of a trash can. Even if I have to be the mushroom girl.

.


About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The mushroom girl

  1. bob says:

    I enjoyed reading some of your articles – they are well written. You are so smart to get those free mushroom stems instead of letting them go to waste. I am so proud of you. Love Dad

  2. Laura says:

    But you’re a cute mushroom girl. 🙂

  3. Christa says:

    Way to be resourceful 🙂 You never let anything go to waste (‘member the good ol’ pumpkin days when we had pumpkins coming out of our ears?! not one pumpkin was wasted thanks to you! i never knew pumpkin could be used for so many things! lol).

  4. thegypsycook says:

    who could forget the pumpkin days, is really the question!

Leave a Reply

