cats n’ curry

 

I forgot I had the recipe for curried shrimp with mango chutney from a friend, but I was cleaning out my car the other day and there it was sitting in my console on a note card. We had a box of mangoes in the house, so I decided it was now or never to try this one for myself.

It turned out really well, including the vegetarian version I made for my sister, which had new peas and red potatoes from our garden.

There are 3 easy parts to this dish: the brown rice bed, the curry, and the mango chutney.

The curry mixture calls for heavy cream, but I used plain yogurt and skim milk instead, along with chicken broth (which I also used in making the rice) and added curry powder, ground ginger, and the tiniest pinch of Splenda for sweetness to it. I added this to the shrimp and onions (or cooked veggies) and heated it all through. Apparently my cat, Turner, was found up on the counter lapping away eagerly at this mixture. I knew that cat was after my own heart; what other cat would love curry?The chutney on top is diced mango, red pepper, and lemon juice-which is just as good eaten plain. This “you are special today” plate was just the first one in the cabinet to be used for my picture, but we usually save it for special occasions or birthdays. Growing up, on our birthdays our breakfast (brought to us in bed) and then later the dinner of our choice was served to us on this plate. It wasn’t anyone’s birthday, but hey, who doesn’t need to be reminded that they are special and loved on any old day?


 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

