color vs. non-color

Last night, we were serving up our dinner and I noticed the extreme disparities between my plate and someone else’s at the table. I will let the pictures speak for themselves:

This is cabbage, potatoes, and pork. All good, good for you, and really, a pretty healthy dinner, if a monochromatic one. I will say, to be fair, that the eater of this plate did have a colorful and varied lunch, and later a bright pink smoothie, so I’m not concerned about his/her eating patterns. This is a plate of many veggies: pepper, sweet potato, tomatoes, cauliflower, lettuce, onions, hummus, goat cheese…lots of color. Equally healthy, filling, just a little more rainbow-esque.

I know there are whole diets and meal plans that focus on eating certain colors and that you are supposed to eat every color once a day, or something like that. Really, if you just eat some fruits and veggies (especially fresh, garden ones!) it isn’t that hard.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

