back to blueberries

Every  morning when I lived in West Palm Beach, I had frozen blueberries, fiber one sticks, and plain yogurt. It was one of the best breakfasts ever. The blueberries would make the yogurt cold and a little frozen, the cereal offset the super sweetness of the berries and the tang of the yogurt..it was great. And then,  I started eating oatmeal, and that was a 2 year phase of my life, that we all know is sadly over. But then I had the good old standby again, and ahhhh it was like I was transported back in that apartment complex housing probably over 500 students, built in the 70s and molding, smelling the salt air and listening to traffic and construction as I sat on the back porch and watched joggers go by. Ok, so I don’t miss all THAT, but Southside Towers was still a great place to live.

Totally unrelated to the above story: I made more pesto yesterday from the many basil plants growing on the deck. 3 kinds actually, sweet, purple (the pesto, sadly, did not turn out purple), and big. And here is a nifty little trick when making pesto, especially large quantities of it that you want to freeze. Put them in ice cube trays, freeze them, then pop them out and you can store them in plastic bags in the freezer without having to thaw huge chunks of it. And to end this with a third random story, I started signing up for free samples in college, because who doesn’t love mail and free stuff? I just drank an instant coffee sample…and it really wasn’t great, except for the fact that it reminded me of some stuff they gave me in Jordan, and Jordan/Israel memories are always a good thing. I guess it worked out then.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

