coffee and cake

Years ago, my sister went to Kanakuk, a Christian sports camp in Branson, MO. As a 7th grader, I went too, for one week. It was one of the few times I went away to camp, excepting a few church camps. Maybe my family isn’t much of camp-in-summer sorts of people, or maybe it was because of the diabetes. I loved the camp, though. That year the theme was “Huck Finn” and I’ve had a soft spot for him ever since (in addition to this, is the fact that my Grandmama had a movie/documentary/tv film about Mark Twain that I liked. AND Twain was from MO, where my mom grew up).

So last night at dinner, the brother says how he has this massive craving for coffee cake. The kind of funny thing is, the cake has no coffee in it, mostly just lots of butter and sugar. Obviously it goes really well with coffee, hence the name, just like teacake, but still, the fact that this is Kanakuk Koffee Kake is ironic, because let’s be honest here, what camper kid wants coffee with his cake? That’s right-not one. They all want milk, but we aren’t going to call this milk cake.And, being the really incredibly sister that I am, I told him I’d bake one for him to take this weekend as he and my dad head out on a camping/canoeing trip with some other men and sons. I thought it was pretty fitting to take camp cake out camping. It turned out great (it was taste-tested by the Requester and he highly approved), except for one small snafu:

They left it at home.

Want the recipe? Tell me about your favorite camping experience!


About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

