runnin’ with rabbits

 

Last night, my brother suggested we go run out at Chile Pepper, which is really UofA agricultural fields, where a race called Chile Pepper is held every October. It is a great terrain-fields and grass, trees and ponds. It is nice to change the scenery, although it is always, always windy out there. This morning there were a lot of rabbits that would stop and freeze in the middle of the path, or run in front or beside me. They were pretty cute little critters.

And then I came home and was SO thirsty. My protein shake wasn’t cold, so I dumped it in the nearest thing I could find-a canning jar-to which I added ice. After the shake had been slurped away, I added my coffee to the leftover ice, because who wants a hot beverage in 90* weather after a hard run? My brother gave me some grief over using a jar instead of a cup, but really, there isn’t a whole lot of difference…
And speaking of the bro, he is notoriously bad about leaving a few sips of drinks behind, or a bite of food left. The worst part, is that he will put it in the fridge, or freezer, or pantry, swearing he will return to it. Does this happen? Maybe 5% of the time. Today, he purposefully left a few drops of apple juice left just to get a rise out of my mom, which he did. Then she practically force-fed it to him.And now, be impressed with this dinner: a Boca burger (soy stuff) wrapped in turkey bacon. I know, I know, it is a little incongruous to have a fake burger with real bacon, of all things, but it was actually really good. And I know the picture makes this look kind of like it is plastic play food, but you’ll just have to trust me on this one. It’s ok to be jealous of my food combos…not everyone can be so creative:)And, I was told today, by an unnamed person, that I was eating “trash” when I saved the poor apple core and peels from the compost pile. Hmph!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

