pea pesto

When the garden is bursting at the seams with produce, I just can’t help myself, and I want to have some of everything. The kitchen is full with produce (not all from the garden, but still, it is fresh summer fruits and veggies) and I get probably a little too giddy over it.

One thing today I was not giddy about was my breakfast. I had to be out the door early and didn’t want to take the time to sit down and eat breakfast (a few minutes extra sleep never hurt anyone…) so I decided to make a smoothie.  I was leery of it at first, smoothies don’t really fill me up, but I thought, hey I’ll use my protein drink and give it another try. Bad idea. First of all, banana chunks kept getting stuck in the straw so I had a rather arduous time getting it through the straw. Second, it absolutely did not fill me up.The calories were the same, but the fact that it was pureed, I think,  was maybe what made the difference. I don’t know. Other than I’m not doing it again.

On a happier note-I made pesto today (to go with fish). It was pea pesto with mint, almonds, and parmesan cheese. It was thick with chunks of pea and almonds, and was a bright, beautiful green.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pea pesto

  1. alice says:

    Now that I can be a “on the scene taste taster”…..the pesto was REALLY good…I was leery at first but we loved it!!!Kudos to you, Gypsy:)

  2. Christa says:

    I can also vouch for this pea pesto…..it’s absolutely delicious!!! Thanks again, Lys, for the amazing lunch! Can I have the recipe for this pesto? What kind of parm do you use?

Leave a Reply

