hello home.


 Back home in Arkansas now for the summer…so different than the city life, but I’m loving it. I literally screamed at my brother today when I passed by him on by run (actually, we were passing each other…make no mistake I will never ever be able to pass him. He is a beast of running). Breakfast today was another non-oatmeal affair. I’m still sad to see it go…but the replacements I’ve been coming up with have been worth it, I must say. Today was a strawberry, goat cheese, and basil (grilled) wrap.My mom’s garden is in full bloom and not a meal goes by that I don’t enjoy something from it. She has a plethora of cabbage and I offered to try making kimchi with it, which I am pretty excited about. Hopefully it works.One aspect of home I love is all the natural light. I’ve lived in houses and apartments that are pretty cramped or are dark or that don’t have many window, but here, because we live in the country we have lots of windows and sunlight floods them. I am a light and sun person. Artificial light actually kind of annoys me. I used to have a professor who hated having the shades up and would always draw the blinds and turn on the super bright lights. It was awful and felt like being in a sterilized hospital room.

And this is my cat, Turner who also loves the sunlight, particularly when he is stretched out in it. Sometimes my dad calls him “turnip” instead of Turner, and he (my dad, not that cat) thinks it is really funny. Glad to be re-settled, for the time being:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hello home.

Leave a Reply

