Experiments

Today I continued making the kimchi. This is a huge experiment-in that I’ve never done it before and really don’t know what I’m looking for, smelling for, or even expecting to find. I guess in a few days I’ll find out if it worked or not. I’m a pretty big experimenter when it comes to the kitchen; I love the creative process and seeing what comes as a result of it. I’m experimenting a bit with meals these days…how much I’m eating and what I’m eating. With diabetes, food and blood sugar are always test runs and trying one thing out for a while. That is not so much the kind of experimenting I enjoy, mostly because the outcome is not always so pleasant. Yes, I have kitchen failures (I had a case of exploding, greasy muffins-horrible, to say in a word), but they don’t feel like disasters the way bad blood sugars can.Instead of having a HUGE salad with some protein on the side and fruit, I decided to just do a sandwich with hummus, turkey, cuke, and some pineapple sage. I did the sage mostly because I went out on the deck and that was what was there that was leafy enough. It filled me up, but didn’t make me feel super full, the way a ton of veggies does sometimes. But the reason I had to pick sage in the first place was because I had already ravaged the basil plant to make pesto.I tried to mimic my friend’s from the other night, using almonds and going sparingly on the olive oil. It is good and flavorful-here mixed with some cooked chicken-but I think next time I’ll do a big batch instead of just one serving. Pesto is one of those things it is hard to make in one serving because I think it misses out on some of the flavor and consistency. It’s kind of like dividing a recipe so many times you have to try to half an egg: it just doesn’t work so well.

Life is all about experiments and trying new things and seeing what works and what doesn’t-it’s that wonderful little thing called flexibility. Something I’m SURE I need to work on!

 

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Experiments

  1. Gloria says:

    You were mimicking me… 🙂

  2. Gloria says:

    Also, what’s kimchi? Looks interesting.

Leave a Reply

