yummy goodbyes

As I prepare to head out of Dallas, I have lots of people to say bye too…which isn’t so fun. BUT so far, they have mostly been goodbye meals, and they have all been delicious. For lunch I went to Le Madeline and got my usual Mediterranean salad-artichokes, olives, feta, tomatoes…if all of France tasted that good I might be easily sucked into living there.

For dinner, I had one of the best meals I’ve had in a while. I like to think I am blessed and get to eat well, so I’m not complaining about the usual fare, but this was exceptionally good. A friend brought fresh veggies, including yellow squash dug from the garden moments earlier and sweet potatoes (not from the garden). She also made some pesto that was super thick and more like a nut butter in texture. It was so much better than the oily drippy stuff I’m used to. She said she used almonds instead of pine nuts, which gave it a distinctive flavor. I wholly approved. I also made some red quinoa. So, so good!

For work I made some grilled chicken that I marinated overnight in plain yogurt, lemon juice, fresh rosemary, and basil. It had to be cooked at a really low heat because otherwise the combo of yogurt and juice would burn up really quick. Just a few more days until every meal is a garden meal:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to yummy goodbyes

  1. Charlie says:

    meals are a good way to say goodbye to people

  2. Gloria says:

    Woohoo! One of the best meals ever!

Leave a Reply

