Newsies

Whew! It has been a crazy, busy past few days. Last night we (my cousin and I) hung out in the half-bath for a couple hours-she on the toilet, me on the floor after double tornado sirens. This was after we dashed outside in the pouring rain to cover my car with quilts to help prevent the softball size hail that was supposed to come (it didn’t ever get close to that big). We had a grand old time…I read and crouched to talk on the phone because the charger was outside the door and she worked on her Bible study. Thankfully we didn’t have any damage and got to sleep in our own beds.

On to eats…this was yesterday mornings breakfast. Our internet has been terrible sketchy lately, but I think it is all fixed up now. This was a tortilla with slightly caramelized oranges (in cinnamon and stevia). I added a few teaspoons of coconut butter. I kind of forgot that I put it on there because I bit into the wrap and all of a sudden there was a richness and nuttiness from the coconut that surprised me. And it was delightful.  

I made spicy shrimp rolls: avocado, shrimp and spicy mayo. I did smoked salmon with cream cheese and asparagus. There was some leftover rice and cream cheese and filled nori with that. 

I also did asparagus with zucchini, asparagus with salmon, and cucumber with avocado and cream cheese. Lots and lots of sushi. I’ve learned one thing in rolling it: fill it sparsely and then it won’t overflow and burst. With this new knowledge I rolled up some dolmas for a friends’ dinner. I read all this stuff about how labor intensive it was, but I didn’t think it was too bad really.

The filling was brown rice with curry, mixed berries (cranberries, dried cherries, a few dried blueberries), almonds and pine nuts, and some softened onions. I filled up the leaves and then steamed them for about a half hour.

With the extra filling I threw in some hamburger meat, for the non-vegetarian eater:) I served it with plain kefir yogurt (I didn’t have any cuke to make tzatziki). It was a well-received meal.

Glad to have had some good eats and glad to have the world a little back in order.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Newsies

  1. alice says:

    Wow…what a professional…and it all sounds wonderful! It is going to be a step down to be my WW chef!!!!

  2. Uncle Jim says:

    WOW! Kind of puts my balogna (non-vegetarian) sandwitch to shame. We realy enjoy your “blogs”.. I will send a recipe for Possum dip(if I haven’t already).
    Uncle Jim & Aunt Gara Ann..

  3. Charlie says:

    Sushi!!!! I love sushi! Recently, I went to a church potluck with burgers and hot dogs, and one family brought sushi. Didn’t quite fit with the other food, but that didn’t really matter to most of us. Those sushi bringers became my new heroes! Sushi!!

Leave a Reply

