the heart of it all.

Artichokes are known for being notoriously hard to deal with and cook. I can personally testify now to that truth. I bought these a few days ago and decided today was the day to finally attack them. I made them in the afternoon and then we went to see “Water for Elephants.” It was actually pretty good…I didn’t have super high hopes for the “Twilight” heart throb (I frown on Twighlight, I make no apologies), but it was interesting and kept my attention.

Artichokes are pretty little things, but they are a bear to cut and clean, and they turn brown super fast-so they have to be plunged into a lemon bath pretty quickly. I cooked them two ways. Mostly because after doing this one, I decided to cut it in half, thinking it might be a little easier. This one (for the cousin) was a mixed stuffing. The first part was onion, carrot, bread crumbs and Parmesan. But then I ran out of that, so I threw in some leftover barley and bacon bits. I drizzled the whole thing in olive oil and it baked in the oven in chicken stock. She ate the whole thing, so I think it was a success!

For myself, I made a salmon and onion stuffing, topped with feta. This was easier to make, but I’m not sure if it was easier to eat…eating a fresh artichoke is messy, messy work. In fact, I’m really glad no one was watching me, because it was probably pretty gruesome.

A lot of work, for a pretty small yield. Maybe it was just because it was my first time cooking them and I’m not a seasoned pro, yet:), but I wasn’t overly impressed with the outcome, apart from the nifty presentation.

Winner of the giveaway announced tomorrow-tell all your family and friends:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the heart of it all.

  1. Laura says:

    I’m liking all the new pics on top!

Leave a Reply

