Little Frankensteins.

To all those people (ahem, family members) who thought they couldn’t win the giveaway, I just want it known, that this is exactly how I picked the winner: I put everyone’s name that left a comment since last week on a piece of paper mixed them in my hand, threw them on the floor, and without looking, picked up STEF! Congrats girl. Email me your info and we’ll figure out how to get you that pumpkin buttah:)

Speaking of pumpkin…I had a little for lunch today. Canned, anyway. This was another waffle (apparently, my new favorite thing…) topped with plain pumpkin, a few spinach leaves, leftover chicken, yogurt and mustard, then topped with more pumpkin and baked for a few minutes in the oven. Pumpkin and chicken go REALLY well together…kind of like Thanksgiving turkey and sweet potatoes, but without feeling like we’ve had throwback to the fall. 

And then, I started on another experiment…a little kitchen Frankenstein if you will (in the best way possible). I looked up a recipe for chocolate buttermilk muffins, to use up some of my kefir water. And then I added some coconut. And replaced half the sugar with applesauce. And instead of eggs used a big nanner. And used coconut oil instead of butter. Oh, and I didn’t have chocolate chips, and M&Ms seemed sort of like a desecration to the way these little masterpieces were shaping up. So I threw in some white chocolate chunks. Which promptly melted before they even got into the oven. But they came out wonderfullly moist, smelling deeply of chocolate and coconut and overal flavor perfection. Either way, they are delicious little Frankenstein’s.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

