diabetes, that is rude.

In an attempt to once again regulate the morning blood sugars, I had a different breakfast again. I’m starting to miss my oatmeal! It seems kind of unfair that just because I’m a diabetic and a runner I can’t have my favorite breakfast. I say, diabetes, that is just plain rude. This was another wildberry waffle with grilled mangoes. The mango had been in the fridge for a while and just absolutely refused to ripen, so it was a little tough. I let it sit in some stevia and balsamic vinegar overnight then grilled them off in the morning.

It was good and reminded me of homemade waffles with fresh peaches. This was a decent replacement:) I did add yogurt at the last minute…totally for aesthetics. It tasted fine, but I hadn’t planned to until I saw that the plate needed a little pop!

I finished reading this book yesterday (read totally on walks!) I have to say, it was completely mesmerizing. This guy is not just a runner, not just a marathoner, he is an ultra-marathoner. As in 150 mile races…50 marathons in 50 days, running across deserts, mountains, for 48 hours STRAIGHT. As a more, dare I say, normal, runner, this is kind of beyond me. I can’t see the point in running that much, beyond the personal accomplishment (he does raise money by doing it, to be fair). Running is a wonderful thing and I love it, but to spend so much of life doing it? Aren’t there better things to be doing? I don’t know…just processing, I guess. He is remarkable and inspiring, I will give him that!

One last day to enter the giveaway! I’ll announce the winner on Saturday:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

