Why yes, I DO eat meat.

For some reason, some people have a hard time believing that I eat meat. Whether it’s my friends giving me a hard time or people who just assume I don’t because of my massive veggie intake, I’m constantly explaining I love meat. Red meat is a rare occurrence, but I DO enjoy it. I made burgers tonight with grilled corn. Not on the actual grill, but on the gas stove top.

You can’t see the flames leaping up and popping the liquid out of the corn (it hit me in the eye), but they were definitely there. Mmm these tasted SO good. Just like summer and Africa:) And speaking of corn…I made gumbo and corn muffins for work today. I actually looked up the nutritional stats on the bread…28 cals and 4 carbs per mini muffin. These in the pic are actually topped with a tiny bit of honey. I can’t say I’m much of a cornbread fan, but I know some folks love it and eat it as a meal in and of itself. I am posting this recipe on the recipe page!

As for the gumbo, it was just a hodgepodge of a bunch of different recipes. It had okra, tomatoes, onions, red pepper, andouille sausage, shrimp, and that classic gumbo ingredient: roux. Roux is just butter and flour cooked together before being added to the soup as a thickener.

Not sure if the spices were “right” for a gumbo, but I just mixed a lot of what the various recipes said were classic: oregano, red and black pepper, garlic, paprika. I didn’t grow up eating gumbo, so even thought it tasted good (had to check for saltiness!) I can’t tell if it was what it is “supposed” to taste like.

I know this looks like cider or something…but it’s not. It’s cleaning solution! We were looking up natural cleaners and found this recipe: lemon peel, fresh rosemary sprigs, cinnamon bark, and cloves boiled in water. After it steeped and cooled, I added a few eucalyptus oil drops, and white vinegar. I used it when cleaning up the kitchen, and I’m happy to report it cut the grease nicely and smelled wonderful. If you are interested in natural cleaners (no chemicals), this might be one to try.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why yes, I DO eat meat.

  1. Laura says:

    I’m posting ON the blog. 🙂 The grilled corn looks delicious…as does the cornbread. I’ll pass on the shrimp filled gumbo.

  2. Kendra M says:

    The cleaner looks super interesting. One of my housemates uses vinegar as a cleaner a lot, but I mind the smell some.

  3. Anna Grace says:

    Nick would really like the idea of that natural cleaner, because he HATES vinegar. Although, vinegar is a great cleaner, and eucalyptus smells so fresh and natural. As for the corn, it is hard to eat it any other way after having it grilled/flame cooked.

  4. Anna Grace says:

    By the by, I posted this blog post on my Facebook… I thought it would be ironic.

Leave a Reply

