wildberry waffles

In an effort to both use up food AND be creative and do something a little different, I made chicken salad, topped it with regular cheddar cheese and then put it on top of a waffle. Yes, a waffle. I had my inspiration from a tuna melt on top of an English muffin. This was just canned chicken, s&p, and some yogurt (surprisingly simple, and totally unlike me, to go without any other spices or herbs). I grabbed the wheat waffle out of the freezer and then realized it was a wildberry waffle. I would not be deterred. And you know what? It was really good actually. Chicken salad very often has grapes or other fruit accompanying it, so the tiny bit of sweetness from the berries mixed perfectly with the creamy chicken, and the sharp cheese.

We’ve been on a bit of fish kick lately. I think I’ve decided seafood might be my favorite form of protein. It’s wonderfully versatile with unique flavors. For my cousin I made salmon with a creamy dill marinade and then I coated it with almonds to form a nice little crust and the marinade kept it from drying out.

I served it with the pretty purple potatoes, coated with olive oil, and dill as well to go along with the fish and tie it all together.

Remember the GIVEAWAY! Post your favorite summer smell for one entry and leave another post telling me you posted it to your facebook/twitter/whatever page by FRIDAY!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to wildberry waffles

  1. Stef says:

    My most absolute favorite summer smell, well I have two. 1. Food: smelling a nice charcoal grill going with bbq chicken or burgers. 2. Non-food smell: Sunscreen lotion. I grew up on a lake & every morning & throughout the day my Mom would have me always put on sunscreen & to this day I know it’s summer when I can smell the coppertone or which ever brand you use. They all seem to have a commonly unique smell to each other. Ahhh summer~

Leave a Reply

