2:44 am

What happened at 2:44 this morning, you ask? The shrill and repeated burglary alarm went off is what happened. It was particularly troublesome when we couldn’t find any open doors or windows, the alarm system wasn’t showing a break-in, we couldn’t get it turned off and the police weren’t calling, and finally when we found a phone to call the alarm company they reported nothing. Turns out it was the smoke alarm, and apparently a malfunctioning one at that because there was no indication of a fire-no smoke, no flames, no popping noises. But that dang alarm rang for a good 20 minutes and I could hear it for quite some time after. What a way to interrupt a pleasant sleep!

On to bigger and better things later in the morning. A new breakfast!As an attempt to get more protein, I’ve started drinking these chocolate shakes that are specifically for recovery, a whopping 17g of protein. I saw a nutritionist when I was home and she thought maybe I wasn’t getting enough, especially with the miles I put in running. So even though it isn’t something I necessarily feel like I’m lacking, I could be doing big time muscle damage on the inside. She said what your body doesn’t need it will flush out, so the danger of “too much protein” is unfounded, only that that the sources of protein can be dangerous. So if too much protein is coming from high calorie, high fat meat, then that is when it’s an issue.For the first time in probably 2 years, I had a breakfast other than oatmeal. I love me some oatmeal, obviously. I’ve been having trouble with my blood sugars after my runs and after some reading, theorizing and discussing, there was some thought that perhaps oatmeal was too slow acting for after a run to top of the glycogen stores I deplete during the run. Glycogen and insulin are connected in ways I don’t necessarily understand and it gets into chemistry stuff and processes  over my head stuff, so I will leave it at that. Anyway, this is apples with cinnamon, stevia, and lemon juice that were lightly sauteed (NOT mushy)  inside a whole wheat wrap with Swiss cheese and then grilled, naturally. Quite messy, but quite delicious! Unfortunately, it didn’t solve any blood sugar issues, but it was fun to eat anyway.

For lunch I had 2 fried eggs (instead of the way I have been making them, an omelet). I had forgotten how much I love soft yolks. There is a beautiful piece of food writing in Hemingway’s “The Garden of Eden” (one of my favorite author’s best books, in my opinion) in which he describes a man as he eats his egg, spreading mustard on top before breaking the yolk. Poached eggs are equally wonderful, and I actually like the yolk a little runnier than the pictures shows. Especially when it is mopped up by toast.

Hope tonight is a little less eventful than last night…

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2:44 am

  1. Christa says:

    yum! your breakfast looks yummy. glad it was a false alarm!

  2. Kendra M says:

    What are your thoughts on stevia? I gave some of the full leaf stevia to my mother to use in her tea, but I forgot to keep some and try it for myself. I’ve heard the processed/granulated kind tastes funny.

    • thegypsycook says:

      Kendra-I’m still formulating my thoughts on stevia. When I used it for my bread I actually used a little packet, like you would use for coffee. It can be bitter, so it has to be used in smaller doses than splenda. Other than that, I haven’t had any major issues with it.

  3. alice says:

    Maybe raisins would boost the blood sugar and add a wonderful taste!

    I with the help of your bro posted on FB your blog:) 2 entries for me although I know it is a lost cause !!!!
    2P that that 3P of off
    Love you

Leave a Reply

