oh hello summer!

The summer weather in Dallas has been coming and going-getting hot, cooling off, only to get hot again. Lately it has been lovely, and today while out read-walking (reading + walking, a wonderful way to spend an afternoon!) I constantly smelled the grill going. When I was home everyday I ran there was an overwhelming scent of honeysuckle. Those two things are distinctively summer smells, and I LOVE it!

I tried something today that was a bit of an experiment. Well, that isn’t exactly a new thing…anytime I get into the kitchen it is one big experiment, even if I am “following” a recipe. A while ago I was researching ways to reuse the liquid leftover when I strain my kefir. I learned that you can use it much like you would use buttermilk, in breads, cakes, etc. So I found a recipe for buttermilk honey bread and tried it out.

I set it out to rise, but it certainly didn’t double in size like it was supposed to. I think the mistake I made here was that for some of the flour (about 1/4) I used gluten-free flour because I didn’t have enough regular flour. I was thinking about the fact that without the gluten it reacts totally differently than regular flour. Hence the dense little loaf.

pre-bakefinished little loaf.

It is REALLY heavy because it so dense. I’ll try a second go at it when I strain the yogurt in a few days. But, it tastes really good. The yogurt liquid makes it tangy and tart, like a very unique sourdough. Not a bad taste for the first go round, in my opinion.

GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! To enter: leave one comment telling me your favorite summer smell between now and next Friday, May 21st! For an extra entry: post the blog on your wall/blog and leave an ADDITIONAL comment telling me so!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.