post grad

This week was a flurry of activity…going home for my brother’s graduation from high school. I didn’t get a picture with him in all of his regalia…needless to say, he had a bajillion cords and fancy schmancy accoutrements, including this medal I made him put back on for our picture. I couldn’t be a prouder big sis!

This morning I was out running, another beautiful morning in the country:) And because I live in the country, dogs can run around wherever they want; there aren’t any leash laws. Sometimes this is an issue (I always run with pepper spray due to a bad dog bite), but usually it is just fine. This morning, there was a small yappy dog that was barking her head off. I actually know most of the neighborhood dogs’ names, and her’s is Lucy. The owner frequently has to yell at Lucy to stop  her barks. Anyway, this morning Lucy was her usual self, freaking out when I went by, and all of a sudden I hear, “WHAT ARE you BARKING at?” There was much emphasis on the “what.” Oh nothing, just ME.

Then I had to pack and get ready to go, which included packing a lunch. I had a crunch snack bag with fresh veggies: a carrot, a yellow sweet pepper, some raw cabbage leaves, and some sweet tomatoes. The highlight was an egg white omelet filled with LOTS of fresh herbs and sandwiched in between toast, goat cheese and big basil leaves. Lots of yummy protein to keep me from getting hungry on the trip home. Protein, I am learning, is so so important. For some reason, I have a hard time getting enough on a regular basis, so I’m really working on it.

Thank you ridiculous amounts of construction for extending my trip longer than I had planned. Back to the concrete country grind tomorrow.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

