The glories of home.

I thought this posted Wednesday, which obviously it did not!

I made great time yesterday, just over 5 hours (by a few minutes) and was welcomed with fresh peonies in my room, a fridge bursting with garden glories, and Turner, my cat that I miss like crazy. Seeing the family has been great too:)

My mom’s garden is so stellar.  Here we, are holding a little broccoli bouquet and cabbage. I have contemplated having fresh broccoli instead of flowers as my wedding bouquet (when that day comes). But then again, I might get distracted and start noshing on it instead of focusing on the ceremony. I’m roasting these for dinner tonight.

And this…is my dinner. Don’t be jealous…this is not all from the garden but the cauliflower, broccoli, sweet potato, and cabbage are. And so is the lettuce mix that these will be placed on top of. Now, if only the goat cheese was coming from a pet goat, this would be PERFECTION. Can you see why just one reason why summer at home would be so massively appealing? I love how these cabbages look like gigantic brussel sprouts. They are in the same family as broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels. That family is my favorite of all vegetables I think!Hopefully one day I can garden like this…she is trying to do it all organic. And did I mention I am loving the hordes of herbs? Lavender, basil, oregano, pineapple sage, mint, thyme, rosemary…I am in heaven!

Runners…get your protein! I just went to the nutritionist today and I am not getting enough…and I feel like I am eating SO much. I’m going to start drinking protein shakes because they are uber high protein and low carb. We’ll see how it goes. I’m off to enjoy this delish dinner. Woohoo!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The glories of home.

  1. alice says:

    Loved having you here and thankful that you truly appreciate “my garden” of delights!

  2. Karista says:

    I love this post! I love it when bloggers highlight all the wonderful goodies from the garden. Thanks for stopping by my blog and I love yours! Can’t wait for more posts and your creative meals. Best wishes and Happy Cooking 🙂

  3. JoAn Holdorf says:

    LOVE your mother’s garden produce ALREADY! WOW! I’m impressed!

    My favorite summer smell…..walking through my herb garden and brushing my hand over the ROSEMARY, LAVENDER, LEMON THYME! HEAVENLY!

Leave a Reply

