Purple potato.

2 posts in one day. Who am I? I guess I felt like I needed to make up for missing 2 posts in a row. These were the evening eats:

Started with a purple potato…and white and red ones too. I made a sort of potato soup for my cousin because she hasn’t been feeling great and wanted something gentle and fairly bland.

Purple also happens to be her favorite color, so I thought it was fitting to have purple soup to further cheer her up.

The “soup” was pretty simple…I just boiled the taters in chicken stock until they were relatively soft. I looked for a potato masher but just used a fork instead. I thought about pureeing it in the food processor, but I like soups with a little bit of texture that aren’t just straight liquid. Then once those were fully mashed, I added some more stock as well as dill and frozen peas.

If we are honest with ourselves, it was really just potatos and peas. If she hadn’t of been feeling bad I would have added parmsean cheese, or bacon, or some meat, but I wanted to keep it relatively simple.

For myself I made a simple pasta dish with salmon, peas, and yogurt. I used fresh mint and thyme which are both wonderfully fresh and go perfectly with both salmon and peas. Yum yum yuuuuum.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

