Cinco de Mayo

I used to have grilled fruit wraps for breakfast a LOT one summer. The only thing better than fresh fruit is grilled fresh fruit. I was thinking about this after trying the mango and fish wrap a few days ago and today skipped the regular protein and was all about the fruit. I sliced strawberries and a (finally ripe!) mango, added a little mint then put it in a wrap with spinach and feta and pan grilled it. It was SO wonderful. The feta melted and the fruit was sweet and caramelized and the spinach was still crisp and the mint was fresh. If you have never grilled fruit before, I strongly recommend it!

For work, I made a lot of stuff  for an office party next week. To start, I made double chocolate (healthy) brownies. This is the recipe I used, replacing half the sugar with agave nectar and using whole wheat flour instead of white. I’ve been making these since high school and they are SO good. When I make them for myself, I usually use Splenda to replace some, if not all, the sugar. That does change the texture some-they aren’t quite as fluffy. Coffee brings out the flavor of chocolate in wonderful ways and the applesauce (which replaces the oil) makes them thick and moist. They taste decadently rich without being too bad for you!

Next, I made chocolate, banana, coconut cookies. These will forever be a favorite of mine, reminding me of college and housemates (oh I how I miss you friends!) I went the extra mile here and made them into cookies, not bars, but I think they were a little too big because they were starting to fall apart. But they will taste delicious nonetheless.

Lastly, I made lemon bars-same recipe as before-although I was very, very sure to spray the pan before putting the crust in! Below is a picture of pear skins and core-which I salvaged when I made the kids’ lunches and had for a snack later.

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cinco de Mayo

  1. Laura says:

    That fruit wrap looks wonderful!

  2. Charlie says:

    I want to make a fruit wrap now! sooo cool!

Leave a Reply

