It smells fishy…

There was lots of fish involved in my day today, plus some more beautiful blue skies and sun, sun, sun. I’m a little addicted to the sun. Not as in I’m black from tanning (ok, maybe in previous days, but there isn’t time to lay outside for hours now!) but just that I feel better when the sun is out and I get to enjoy it. 

On to today’s eats. These 3 little bowls weren’t actually my eats; rather, my cousin’s that I fixed for her. A little trio of tastes, if you will: butternut squash soup (which was later topped with a little bit of bacon-which she adores), a salad of cabbage, sesame seeds, and those little Chinese crunchy noodles, and lastly leftover couscous with strawberries and mango. I came home and the bowls were eaten clean!

I didn’t take a picture of it because it was a repeat, but I had another salmon and avocado wrap. Ahhh so good. I did make an Asian dinner tonight for the kids-2 kinds of sushi and oven roasted zucchini dipped in soy sauce. Zucchini is one of the few veggies they will eat when it is cooked….I’m learning all about kids’ food preferences. This was sprinkled with fresh rosemary and drizzled with olive oil.

The first kind of sushi roll was tuna sashimi. Typically, sashimi is thinly sliced (raw) tuna, but the fish monger said it wasn’t a high enough grade to do that, so per his instruction, I just pan seared it on both sides (still pink in the middle).  I tasted a bit and it was actually really good-the fact that it was mostly raw didn’t bother me, nor did it bother the kids, which I thought was interesting.

The second roll I made was cream cheese, smoked salmon, and fresh (raw) asparagus. Smoked salmon is so good. I love the deep flavor of the smoke and the wonderful saltiness, especially when mixed with the creamy cheese and the crisp, fresh asparagus. These rolls were both a little fat and didn’t stay together as well as they should have, but they were eatable, and that is what matters.

Reminds me of some lovely sushi parties from last summer (that will hopefully be repeated in the months to come!)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

