Blue is back.

The blue I am referring to is the sky: it was a perfect blue with no clouds, a bright sun, and green trees to contrast it. I think it has been over a week since I’ve seen the sky like that, and it was so wonderful. Weather definitely affects me, especially I think because I’m a runner and the weather effects running conditions (or whether I can even do it) a lot. But today was perfect for 9 miles: that gorgeous sky, the smallest hint of a breeze, mid 50s.

I experimented with pop tarts today…a healthy version for the kids to eat for breakfast. Apparently they only like sugary cereals for breakfast, and even though they TELL me they will eat certain things for breakfast (oatmeal, pancakes, banana bread) come morning time they apparently renig and won’t eat much more than a bite. So I made a grand total of 2 pop tarts for a trial run: cinnamon for one of the boys (the other knew he didn’t want it) and one for the mom: a more sophisticated one filled with cream cheese, dates, and caramelized walnuts.

The dough was half wheat, half white flour and because I was out of eggs I used a flax “egg” instead (It’s just flax mixed with water) It holds together well and adds a little bit of texture as well. I’ll wait to see what the verdict is before posting a recipe:)

The little braid in the middle was leftover dough that I twisted and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.  Waste not, want not.

My cousin had bought a bunch of ground meat that needed to be cooked, so I made taco meat with it (sadly, using one of those seasoning packages…she has a million of ’em, so I figure I might as well use up what is there). I grabbed some soy crumbles out of the freezer for my dinner and added chili powder, cumin, and softened white onions as inspired by the taco meat. I made into a wrap with spinach and feta and grilled it (obviously!). I’m not going to say it tastes like a burrito or anything, but it was pretty darn good.

Please know, I washed my hair today. Be impressed with my motivation.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

