Oh hello winter.

Apparently, winter just wasn’t through and wanted a last say. So it dropped from 85 to 45 and rained ALL day. And hailed, and thundered and lightninged. So instead of running (I’ll run in mild rain, but this was splattering huge drops, major wind, and cold) I vigorously rode the bike. I had to take off 4 days from running in February when we had a major snow, and it kept up my endurance so when I went back to running I wasn’t dying.

The last avocado was on it’s way out, so I decided to use it for my dinner (shocking! I know) and my cousin’s lunch. For my dinner, I made a wrap with salmon (plus yogurt, mustard, and dill), half of an avocado with lemon juice sprinkled on top, chunks of feta, and spinach. Amazingly this wrap stayed together and it was really good. I think I just have to mix avocado with certain foods to make it tolerable. I was surprised-this wrap was really delicious.

For the Cuz, I made a sandwich that utilized not only the avocado but the last of the chickpeas in a hummus and salami sandwich. It was more of a mock hummus because it was just the peas, lemon juice and cumin, and some olive oil all mashed with a fork. But it worked, I think and was a sandwich bursting with flavor!

Today at work I made butternut squash soup and whole wheat bread. It just fit this nasty nasty weather. I started cooking the onions, carrot, squash, and potatoes, and it seriously smelled and felt like fall. Basically, I just sautéed those ingredients (2 small squash, 1 carrot, 2 small potatoes, 1 onion), added some chicken stock and a small bit of milk, cinnamon and sage for seasoning, brought it all to a rolling boil, then covered and simmered for 40 minutes. When it was all soft, I cooled it before spooning it into the blender to puree. It’s so much prettier when it’s all pureed, although, if I was making it for myself, I would have left some chunky, just for the texture.

Side note: if you puree hot stuff in a blender, be sure to not seal the top on, but take the middle out and cover with a cloth, or it will explode. Hot soup explosion anywhere but in your mouth is not a good thing.

Lastly, I made some whole wheat bread. It was supposed to have molasses, but it had gone rancid. As in, I popped open the top and it pinged! like when you open a jar for the first time. It had fermented, so I restarted, using honey instead. I used yogurt for both the oil portion and the buttermilk. I didn’t get to try it but it smelled heavenly and I heard it was good:)

 

I was going to take a pic of my Bible study gals, but then I realized, it’s been a week since I washed my hair, and I’m just not ready to post that kind of picture for the world to see quite yet. HA! Wherever you are: stay warm and dry.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh hello winter.

  1. Now I am craving bread, soup and avocado. I am so glad that the wrap was delicious!! LOVE YOUR BLOG!!

Leave a Reply

