not quite ripe

I came home a few days ago to our fruit basket full of mangoes, avocados, and cutie oranges. Yay for diversification in the fruit basket!

When I was home for Easter I made a mango chutney, which I naturally wanted to recreate and put with tuna in a wrap and grill it (because everything is better grilled…even fruit). Theoretically, this was a wonderful, appetizing idea. Unfortunately, the reality was this: the tuna was frustratingly dry, the mango was rock hard, and my whole wheat wrap tore completely as I was wrapping it. I grilled the mangoes to try and soften them (partially successful there) and added some onions, some curry and fresh mint. The tuna came out of the can and I threw on some feta hoping it would melt and provide moisture.

It kind of worked. Like I said, the basic idea was good, but the final outcome was definitely lacking. That is the one thing I don’t like about tuna: it seems insufferable unless heavily lubricated. This is usually done with mayonnaise, or plain yogurt in my case. I didn’t feel like yogurt was quite the flavor I wanted here though. If the mangoes had been softer, there would have been plenty of mango juice to provide liquid. I’m going to wait a few days and try this again!

With the avocados and leftover tuna, I made a tuna salad for my cousin’s lunch: a mashed avocado, tuna, onions, and mint on toasted wheat bread. See, the avocado was PERFECT here for moisture purposes. I’m not a huge avocado fan though…I wish I was more of one because it is so amazingly good for you, but it just doesn’t thrill my heart. Sorry, avocado.

Went and saw the Conspirator this afternoon. We were supposed to see a foreign film but there was a misprint about the times…poo. Oh well, this was interesting and there is definitely a lot to discuss! It is interesting because it explores conspiracy on multiple levels: the way the planners of the assassination conspired to kill Lincoln, and (as portrayed in the movie) the conspiring of the Government against Mary Surratt. I wouldn’t have paid the ridiculous price normally, but I was out with others and didn’t want to sit out!    

Off to brush up on my Lincoln history and check out “A Team of Rebels,” one of his biographies of bringing his cabinet together.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

