Just send me to the Middle East.

My bro-in-law asked me if curry was my new obsession. I asked him what he meant by “new” since I’ve been putting curry in anything and everything for probably the past year or so. Before that it was cumin (now cumin goes with the curry, among other things). I just can’t help it.

Speaking of my brother-in-law, it is his birthday yesterday. Happy birthday Nick!

 White cake with mounds of frosting is obviously not Middle Eastern inspired. But lunch was!

I really have no idea what this is…just a conglomeration of good foods and spices. I started by cooking some onions in a little pot, then added some chickpeas–toasted those–then threw in some stewed tomatoes. I did a Middle Eastern-y spice mix (ginger, cumin, curry, pepper, coriander) and added some plain yogurt. I brought it up to a boil and then let it simmer. At the end I threw in some spinach thinking it would add some bulk, not thinking about the fact that spinach is mostly water and would only add to the soupiness. I dolloped it off with some yogurt at the end, and it was really good. I love hot foods when paired with cool things…like curry and plain yogurt.

We had some pork in the fridge I wanted to cook up before it went bad.

I just pan-grilled the pork (in butter, because it will be for my cousin), which I sliced in half because it was incredibly thick, and added some rosemary and a carton of applesauce. It smelled heavenly! I took out the pork and a little bit of the sauce, but there was still a lot of applesauce in the pan so I added some rice flour and whisked until it was really thick, and it turned out like a savory apple pancake. I stole a bite before adding it to the pork (which went into the freezer), and it was good. Definitely unique, the pork flavor with the apple and the rosemary…it may be one of those things I can never recreate:)

When it comes time to actually eat this it will be interesting to see my cousin’s reaction…although if it involves meat, she is usually game to try it. Have a happy (dry) Saturday!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just send me to the Middle East.

  1. Your food always makes me so so hungry!! Happy bday to your bro in law:) I LOVE CURRY TOO!!!

Leave a Reply

