So proud.

 

I got up and ran first thing today: 8 miles. I feel like I accomplish so much more for some reason when I run first thing. I have to start doing it because I know that soon enough it is going to be HOT, so better to acclimate myself now then totally shock my system when I absolutely have no other choice. I’m also super proud of my brother-he got a running to scholarship to school and tonight he got 1st place in all 4 of his track events, including the one mile and the 2 mile. He is so amazing. Here I am geeking about running before my breakfast, and then he goes and dominates a track meet. To each his own…it was a success for both of us I guess!

A few weeks ago I got some huge oranges and I juiced them because I wanted to make olive oil orange cake. Well, the fresh squeezed juice went bad, sadly, before I had a chance to cook with it. Today though, I decided to forge ahead with the cake, even though I didn’t have fresh orange juice! I didn’t have regular granulated sugar, so I used powdered sugar. The cake came out just fine, although it was on the verge of being crumbly. It took me almost no time at all to make it-and I did it all by hand, no mixer.

I used a recipe that called for rosemary, but I substituted zest instead. The cake was very fresh and clean smelling and tasted almost like a light pound cake. Next time, I would use more zest or add juice because I didn’t think there was enough of an orange flavor to it.

For dinner, I used up the rest of the rotisserie chicken and made it 2 different ways: one for me (on the go) and one for my cousin. For myself, I mixed it with my kefir yogurt, curry powder, cumin, some onion, and coriander; I put it all into a wheat wrap with some spinach. I heated it up before I ate it, and it turned out a little dry. The flavor was good though. For my cousin, I shredded it and mixed it with some more Vegenaise and a Mediterranean paste that I found on the fridge door. It was similar to pesto, which would work just as well. I put this on top of some pine nut couscous for a little Italian-inspired dinner. I tasted a bite before I left, and it was really reallly good!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So proud.

  1. Laura says:

    Good job! Substituting is an art. 🙂

Leave a Reply

