Concrete Calves

Mmm…being back on concrete is not good for the legs. Seriously, after just a few days of running on more natural surfaces (grass, gravel road) coming back to the concrete jungle makes the calves burn. But no worries, if I decide to ice them, I will do so very, very carefully! The backs of my legs are still peeling from their frostbite burn.

I saw for the first time today a purple potato. It was black on the outside and then I cut it in half and it was beautiful! I don’t think they tasted any different though. I usually do all the cooking-for both me and my cousin. A lot of times, they are the same base but I try to make hers more nutritionally robust, if you will. And by robust, I mean of a higher caloric quality. She is supposed to be gaining weight, so I use more oil, butter, and high calorie items to round out her meals. I’m not trying to make it entirely devoid of any nutrition-I still think she should eat healthy even if she is trying to gain weight.

 Tonight I made chicken salad with a rotisserie chicken we had in the fridge. She likes dark meat, I like the white, so it’s a perfect arrangement. I shredded it with some celery, carrot, and onion. Instead of mayo I used Vegenaise-a soy based spread she really likes. I roasted a trio of potatoes (purple, yellow, and russet) with olive oil and fresh cut rosemary. On the side there what looks like white onions is actually cabbage I steamed on the stove with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. I used some of the same rotisserie chicken and stuffed it into some cabbage to try my cabbage rolls again. I cooked it at a higher temperature for longer and the cabbage was perfectly soft, although hard to cut cleanly. Such is the nature of cabbage, I suppose.

I am going to post the recipes and nutrition for the carrot cake and chocolate cake from last week. I had everything all figured out and then I left it at home in Arkansas. Hopefully everyone is having a great week and staying safe in this crazy weather!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

