Home again, home again

 

After we contemplated getting up at 12 this morning to be back early, we nixed that idea and settled to leave by 5 to be in the clear weather pocket and get home quickly. It was a long drive, but not awful, and it definitely made my legs ready for a speedy run when I got out of the car. The legs were willing, but were a bit stiff. And, the tennis ball I put in my bag for the purpose of rolling out my troubled IT band was missing when I got back here and unpacked. I think it might be because I took it from my brother’s room, and he took it back. Thanks, bud.

the sandwich I gave away:(

 I made this sandwich a few times over the weekend, and had originally packed this one for yesterday when I thought I was going to have to eat lunch in the car. When that plan got nixed because of the weather, I wrapped it up and though I’d eat it for lunch today. But I ended up giving it my sister who doesn’t get to eat great food because she and her husband are on a major college kid budget! It is the most glorious sandwich ever though…toasted wheat bread, a big slab of goat (or feta) fresh basil, and roasted red pepper. I think the inspiration came from Ina Garten’s show The Barefoot Contessa, of all places. I’m not her biggest fan (I tend to think she is snooty in her cooking) but this was one done right!

Coming back to Dallas after being home is going to be tough I think. This weekend was so wonderful and it went by far to quickly. Maybe I’ll make this for lunch to remind me of home!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home again, home again

  1. alice says:

    The house doesn’t smell nearly as scrumptious as it does when you are home!!!
    Loved having you here. Praying……

Leave a Reply

