Travelin’ On

 

I’m not a huge road trip person. I love being with people and I like seeing places, but sitting in the car (or airplanes, for that matter) for long stretches of time is not something I particularly enjoy. I like being active and have the ability to move around, not to mention drink as much water as I want with out concerns for stopping. In any case, to get home, I can’t really avoid it. And the only way to travel when meals will be missed is to plan ahead. No need to survive on chips and soda and gas station candies. No, no.

gourmet dinner on the go

 This is quinoa with roasted eggplant, carrots and onion with a sprinkling of olive oil and thyme. I’ve never fixed quinoa before, although I’ve eaten it many times. Before it was cooked it kind

 

of looked like bird seed, and interestingly on the package it said to rinse thoroughly to remove an outer shell that is believed to be there to deter birds and other critters from eating it. Interesting! Hopefully the other travelers approve:)

From yesterday…the black bean hummus.

 I thought I’d give the recipe, since it seems to get eaten through by the tupperware-ful! I know in the picture it looks like there are speckled eggs sitting in the hummus; fear not, they are part of the Easter decorations behind the bowl of hummus.

It is super duper simple: 1 can of garbanzo beans, 1 can of black beans, 1 clove of smashed garlic-all chopped into the food processor. Then, I used paprika, salt & pepper, and oregano as seasoning (would have used cumin if I’d had it) and just a little stream of olive to smooth it all out. I finished it off with a squeeze of lime juice and whipped it into a frenzy. Hopefully this batch will be as much a success as the last was.

Many hours ahead on the road:(

 
 
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

