Kosher.

I went to the grocery store today that had a big kosher section. I’d never been to one before, and it was kind of an interesting experience. It’s kosher year round, but I think it was especially advertised because of Lent and Passover. Sometimes, I really wish I was Jewish. It just seems so cool. Seeing all the kosher stuff made me want to be in Israel!

remember to eat these!

For Bible study tonight I made “forgotten cookies.” Really, these were just sugar free, chocolate chip meringues, but the first meringues I remember having were as a kid making cookies during Easter. Meringues typically cook for a long time (at least an hour and a half) at a super low temperature and then are left to cool in the oven overnight. So you forget them and then get them in the morning when they are cooled and hard.

These were softer than the version I remember, although I wasn’t following the same recipe. But even so, they were delicious. These were flavored with almond and shaved chocolate, and I used splenda instead of sugar because I wanted one of the gals in my Bible study who has a diabetic grandma to take the leftovers home. Hopefully granny likes them as much as I did:)

And since I mentioned Israel…I didn’t encounter anything like a meringue, but what was super popular were these little honey balls. It was kind of like a doughnut that had been soaked in honey and then had a sugary glaze poured over them that made them stick to each other and anything they came in contact with-like fingers. They were pretty to look at, and good, but only if you like honey (I don’t). The phrase, “flowing with milk and honey” is quite literal here. Or “flowing with sugar and carbs!”

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kosher.

  1. Anna Grace says:

    I think that those little honey balls are similar to the ones that Muslims make during Ramadan. Nick overdosed on some when we were in London, but they were too sweet for my taste.

Leave a Reply

