Palm branches

Today at church the kids choir sang and waved palm branches, since its Palm Sunday. It reminded me of when I was that age running down the aisle singing a song and waving a branch. It also kind of made me miss Florida a little bit-there was practically a whole palm tree between all those branches!

I spent far too long in the kitchen today, between cooking my own meals, my cousin’s meals, cooking two meals ahead of time for tomorrow, baking for Bible study, and finally, cleaning it all up multiple times which ended with dismantling the gas stove contraption to wipe all the runaway crumbs underneath. I love creating and cooking and being in the kitchen, but I am tired now! It just seems first of all, more healthy, and secondly, more economical to cook my own meals instead of relying on restaurant food when I know I’m going to be gone all day. It definitely takes thought and preparation, but I know tomorrow I’ll be happy I did it!

stuffed squash

Tonight’s dinner was stuffed squash. I took two baby yellow squash (on sale for 47 cents at the store) and cut them in half. I scooped out most of the insides to form a hollow little base for the stuffing. I saved the flesh that I’d scooped and stir-fried it with some other veggies so it didn’t go to waste:) The filling was salmon, fresh mint and thyme, some of my kefir yogurt, a few cereal crumbs to help bind it, mustard, and salt & pepper. Into the little squash boats they went and were topped with salty feta cheese then into the oven at 350 for about 25 minutes and 450 for 10-15. They were soft and succulent and the flavor of the salmon was bright and salty against the smooth mellow squash. Obviously, I wasn’t going for this, but it can make for a really fun presentation and is a fun way to eat it instead of just chopping up squash to go with salmon! 
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

