Scary scary cemetery!

Ok, so I wasn’t running around a cemetery. Or biking, which one of my dearest college friends, Madysen and I used to do and sing ridiculous songs that we made up. We would go for rides and make a rule that no speaking was allowed: only singing. Miss those rides!

What was dark and scary tonight was my house when I came home. Because of the ridiculously evil, evil wind there has been all sorts of havoc. Power lines were down, causing horrible traffic, and the power was out when I left the house. Then I got back, several hours later and my cousin and I are bumbling around in the dark using flashlights to see and knocking into the furniture and blinding each other with our flood-size lights. But then it returned. Whew!

I made some little cakes today for a birthday. The folks I made them for are headed out of town, so I didn’t ice them. I made carrot cake cupcakes (healthy, of course!) with cream cheese icing (not healthy) The muffins had pineapple chunks, and NO butter (just applesauce) and I replaced half the sugar with honey. I didn’t get to try them but they smelled delightful.

I had no real cake pans to work with, which is why they were made into muffins and little bunny-cakes. Did anyone read Bunnykins books when they were kids? That’s what these made me think of. I actually wrote a huge research paper on rabbits in literature my freshman year. So in case you feel the need to know about rabbits, just let me know. It was great stuff. You know, Peter Rabbit, Aesop’s fables, the Easter bunny. Anyway…the little bunnies were chocolate cake (again healthy). We again subbed applesauce for the oil and cut back on the sugar. I made strawberry icing to go with these, but other than the strawberries, I wouldn’t call the icing healthy. Healthier…strawberries, whipped cream cheese instead of regular. I’ll try and remember the recipes and put them up with nutrition stats soon!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

