Egg-session

As you will come to realize in this post, I am currently obsessed with eggplant. Along with asparagus these seem to be signifiers of Spring. Hint hint to the madre, as I’m going home for Easter in 1 week! Today was ridiculously windy. Shocking.

I started running in college, when my class schedule dictated when I ran. This meant usually that I went to class in my running clothes and then headed out mid-morning. On Saturdays I got up first thing to get it out of the way (and clear the schedule for the beach!) Sometimes I got up really early, when it was still dark, to beat the heat. Those were some of my favorite runs-along the Intercoastal, watching the sun come up over the water and smelling the gardenia, honeysuckle and bouganveilla mixed with breakfast cooking seeping out of ornate houses.

Then, I started running first thing all the time. Sometimes to beat the heat, but mostly because then I could get on with my day. As in, for 2 years that was the first thing on my agenda: run. And then, this past Christmas break I somehow just went totally lazy and now get up and have a leisurely breakfast. I used to be able to put in 10 miles before my oatmeal, now it feels like plain work to do 7 on days when I have to actually be some where. Who am I?

eggplant yumminess!

 
I am an eggplant obsessed girl, that is what. This mix is with sweet onions and herbed feta cheese. I used mint and rosemary as the seasoning, and let me tell you it was divine. Seasonings make ALL the difference. This was fresh, bright, and savory all at the same time. Go buy an eggplant. You will not be sorry.
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

